French Macaroons

About a year ago I had the pleasure of tasting my first French Macaroon.

A few weeks ago I had my first taste of a French Macaroon.  It all happened by mistake thought.  I went to the Macy’s food section looking at their chocolate and candy, I was looking for anything French they might have. Yes, I’m going through a French stage. I want to eat, read and learn the language.  Anyway, Macy’s had nothing so I left and decide to just walk and catch my bus a few blocks away.  But long and behold a few blocks away I came across a French Cafe, that’s what the sign said.  I walked in and there were a bunch of different flavors of MACARONS.  OMG! Just as I gave up!  I bought a few and the first one I tasted was a slightly red colored raspberry macaroon.  It was delicious.  As I left the cafe I glanced up at the sign again and it said, French Cafe MACARON.   I had totally missed the Macaron part of the owning the first time.  Now I’m in search for the next macaroon.

 

Since last year I’ve been on a scavenger hunt for the next macaroon.  I’ve found a few other places that have been good, not great. Great I’ll only find in France.  But no matter where in France I will not eat a macaroon from McDonald’s.  I read that they are serving macaroons at the Happy Meal Mecca.  Have you had a macaroon today?

 

Leave a Reply

